Best for small must for all
Home city guide local bodies in bijapur

Local Bodies in Bijapur


Bijapur, the head quarters of Karnataka state is located 530 kilometers northwest of Bangalore. Bijapur is well known for the great historical monuments built during the Adil Shahi's dynasty. Before independence Bijapur was part of the Bombay constituency and in 1948, when India got independence, it become the part of Bombay state. When south India was reorganized in 1956, to consolidate speakers of the Kannada language, Bijapur was transferred to the new state of Karnataka and in 1991, the Bagalkot district was split off from Bijapur.

Bijapur has a total geographical area of 10,541 sq kilometers and the district has been divided into five taluks for the administrative convenience. Basavana Bagewadi, Bijapur, Indi, Muddebial and Sindagi are the five taluks in Bijapur. As per the census on 2011 Bijapur district has a population density of 207 inhabitants per square kilometers and the population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 20.38% the district has a sex ratio of 954 females for every 1000 males.

Zillah Panchayat Bijapur

The Zillah Panchayat is an elected body constituted with 32 members, elected from geographically demarcated constituencies from within the rural areas of the district. There is one parliament member, eight legislative assembly members, two state legislative council and Adhyaksha of the 5 taluk panchayats in the district.

The Zillah Adhyaksha is the executive head of the Zillah Panchayath and chairs all the meetings held in Zillah Pancahyat. Smt Kavya Kallappa Desai is present Zillah panchayt Adyaksha of Bijapur District, who is directly elected from the directly elected members of the Zillah Panchayat.
  • Smt. Kavya K Desai, Zillah Panchayat President
  • Phone: (08352) -277240
The Upadhyaksha is deputy to the Adhyaksha and in the absence of Adhyaksha, the Upadhyaksha chair the meetings in Zilla Panchayat. Sri Tammanna K Hangaragi is the current Zilla Panchayat upadyaksha of Bijapur district.
  • Shri. Tammanna K Hangaragi, Zilla Panchayat Vice President
  • Phone: (08352) -276953, 9900553975
There are five standing committees in Zillah panchayat to facilitate discussions in the functioning of Zillah panchayat and each standing committee consist member not exceeding seven numbers including the chairman. The members of these committees are elected from the directly elected members of Zillah panchayat, the term of the Adhyaksha, the Upadhyaksha and all the 5 standing committee is 20 months and the term of elected members is 5 years.

A chief executive officer is appointed by the state government for the smooth functioning and administration of the Zillah panchayath. He or she is not below the rank of a deputy commissioner of a district and nearly 27 different departments come under Zillah panchayath such as education, health, forest, public health engineering, irrigation, fisheries and agriculture. The chief executive officer is assisted in the discharge of his duties by senior officers in the Zillah panchayat like deputy secretary, chief accounts officer, chief planning officer, project director and council secretary. The Zillah panchayth of Bijapur district is located on Managuli road, which is just three 3 kms away from the bus stand. The Zillah panchayat building was built in 1998 by KLAC and it is easily accessible from railway station, city bus stand.

Municipal Council of Bijapur

The town municipal council is one of the oldest urban local bodies in Bijapur constituted in the year of 1973. This oldest municipal council is located along Sholapur- Mangalore highway at a distance of about 20 kms. From Zalaki, there is a state border of state Karnataka and Maharashtra. Indi is situated at 17o 10' 12" north latitude and 75o 58' 12" east of longitude and the town is at a distance of 60 kms from the district head quarters, Bijapur. It is accessible with both road and train transportations. The municipal council is situated at the heart of the city and ear to the bus station and very easily accessible to the citizens.
  • City Municipal Council
  • Address: Gandhi Chowk, MG Road, Bijapur- 586101
  • Phone: (08352) 222474, 9243217775

Co-operative Institutions in Bijapur

The Bijapur district central co-operative bank Ltd is functioning in the area of Bijapur from 1991. The Bijapur district has 644 villages in five taluks, the main aim of this Bijapur district central co-operative bank Ltd is to provide financial support to the agriculture and related activities and this co- operative bank has opened about 28 branches in this area to serve the people in their activities

Government Organizations in Bijapur

Being the headquarters of Karnataka, Bijapur has numerous offices including government and private offices. All these offices are providing their services for all sections of people in this district. The government offices are situated at different part of Bijapur and following are the details of government offices in Bijapur.

Lock Education Office
Address: Afzalpur Takke, Bijapur Ho, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 270079

Post Office
Address: M G Road, Bijapur Ho, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 250224

Karnataka Housing Board (Project Office)
Address: District Project Office, Bijapur Ho, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 260648

Karnataka Food & Civil Supplies Corporation Ltd
Address: D C Compound, Near NGO Building, Bijapur Ho, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 250652

Sub Registrar Office
Address: Mini Vidhana Soudha, Bijapur Road, Sindgi Bijapur, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586128
Phone: (08488) 260019

Jala Samvardhane Yojana Sangha
Address: Plot No.16, Vinay Bulding, Pulkeshi Nagar,
Managuli Road, Bijapur Ho, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 278198

Employment Office
Address: Mallika Building, Station Road, Bijapur- 586101
Phone: (08352) 250383

Inspection Bungalow
Address: Athani Main Road, Athani Road, Bijapur- 586101
Phone: (08352) 270039

Social Welfare Department
Anand Mahal, Bijapur Jumma masjid, Bijapur- 586101
Phone: (08352) 250695, (08352) 224509

Small Savings Department
Address: 2, Kacheri Road, Bijapur- 586101
Phone: (08352) 251935

Commercial Tax Office
Address: Afzalpur Takke Road, Torvi, Bijapur- 586103
Phone: (08352) 271302

Statistics Department
Address: Revenue Guest House, Kacheri Road, Bijapur- 586101
Phone: (08352) 250620

Block Education Office
Address: Afzalpur, Takke Road, Torvi, Bijapur- 586103
Phone: (08352) 270079

Income TAX Department
Address: Aayakar Bhavan, Nr All India Radio,
Athani Rd, Bijapur Bazaar, Bijapur- Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 270071

Labour Court
Address: Bhukarivilla, Station Road Bijapur, Bijapur-Karnataka - 586101
Phone: (08352) 250937

Explore more about Administration in Bijapur

Comments / Discussion Board - Local Bodies in Bijapur

  • A
    Aditya from Bijapur 1591 Days ago

    I wants members names

    1 0
    Report Abuse
Create Tribute